Modified Pupil Accommodation Review

On May 31, 2016, Renfrew County District School Board Trustees voted to adopt the staff recommendations to close, consolidate and ultimately dispose of Westmeath Public School and Madawaska Public School.

The recommendation as approved:

To address student needs in the Westmeath and Madawaska review area, staff recommends that the option to consolidate Westmeath Public School into Beachburg Public School and Madawaska Public School into Sherwood Public School be approved to address ongoing declines in student enrollment and ongoing renewal needs. Contingent on Ministry approval, the following actions are recommended by staff to implement the desired option.
Therefore, be it resolved that the Renfrew County District School Board, contingent upon Ministry approval, approve recommendations 1-3 for the Modified Pupil Accommodation Review of Westmeath Public School and Madawaska Public School:
  1. That Westmeath Public School be consolidated into Beachburg Public School located at 20 Cameron Street, Beachburg, Ontario and that it occur for the 2016-2017 school year;
  2. That Madawaska Public School be consolidated into Sherwood Public School for the 2016-2017 school year within the facility of Madawaska Valley District High School located at 341 John Street, Barry's Bay, Ontario, and that;
  3. A transition plan be put in place following the decision to consolidate and/or close a school.

Next Steps

In order to proceed with the consolidation, closure and eventual disposition of Westmeath Public School and Madawaska Public School, we need to establish a transition plan to oversee and guide this process.

The Superintendent for the school serves as the Chair for the Transition Team but has power to appoint a designate. In the case of Madawaska and Westmeath, they have chosen to have a school principal lead and guide the on-the-ground activities and local community outreach.

The composition of the respective Transition Teams will include parents and staff representatives of the affected school as well as other appropriate RCDSB staff.

They will identify the issues, needs and responsibilities related to the implementation of the school closure and monitor progress on transition activities and the well-being of students affected by the school closure.

For Westmeath, the designate principal is Mr. Bill Smith. For Madawaska, the designate principal is Mr. Dave Bishop. 

To find out if you qualify to participate on a Transition Team, contact Bill Smith and Dave Bishop.